Tag: LL Sandy Koufax Award

Lake League Awards Announced

(Game date: Oct. 7, 2018) — The Lake League’s 2018 player awards have been announced today, and there are few surprises among the winners.

Metros outfielder Orlando Garza was named LL MVP for 2018

Starting with the Carl Simms MVP Award, which recognizes the premier position player in the league based on their overall contribution to their team during the season, this year’s recipient went to Orlando Garza, of the 2018 Bull Cup championship Montreal Metros.

Continue reading “Lake League Awards Announced”

2017 Player Awards Announced

The 2017 Player Awards have been announced, and while were some surprises, there were also a few awards that had been virtually locked since August. Continue reading “2017 Player Awards Announced”

Montreal Metros Hurler LL’s Premier Pitcher

In 2016, the premier pitcher in the Lake League was Yoshiaki Fujimura. The Montreal starter is this year’s recipient of the Sandy Koufax Award.

The Sandy Koufax Award is named after one of the top MLB pitchers who himself was a four-time winner of a best pitcher award.

He went 13-2 in 17 starts with 112 strikeouts in 125.1 innings and an impressive 2.30 ERA.

Judson Martel of the Boston Brawlers finished second in voting, while Bill Henson of the Montreal Metros finished third.