Tag: Bull Cup


(GAME DATE – Oct. 21, 2019) — It was a dramatic and long-anticipated finish to cap an historic season for the St. Petersburg Admirals, who won their first franchise Bull Cup Championship in history after defeating the Minneapolis Ravens 4 games to 1.

The Admirals put the icing on their championship cake with an 11-5 Game 5 win in front of a home crowd in St. Petersburg, capping an emotional season where finally, everything “clicked”.

Continue reading “ADMIRALS WIN THE BULL CUP”

Metros Win Bull Cup!

(Game date: Sep. 28, 2018)

The Montreal Metros have emerged victorious in the Bull Cup Championship Series, after winning for the 4th time in team history. The club has taken the Cup three times this decade, beginning with 2011, then again in 2014, before winning the 2018 series.

The win came in dramatic style, with a walk-off RBI double in extra-innings to put the cap on game 4 against the St. Petersburg Admirals. Continue reading “Metros Win Bull Cup!”

2018 Bull Cup Preview: St. Petersburg Admirals vs Montreal Metros

(Game date: Sep 23, 2018) — The St. Petersburg Admirals have finally made a return appearance in the Bull Cup Championship Series, their first in 16 seasons. They will face off against the Montreal Metros in an exciting final, deciding round to the postseason for 2018.

The Admirals were last in the Bull Cup in 2002, when they were known as the San Diego Seagulls. They have never won the Bull League’s top prize, the team has produced solid players for many years, including Hall of Famer Always “Al” Rosy, a third baseman inducted in 2016, who had back-to-back MVP seasons with San Diego, in 1996 and 1997, and was a Rookie of the Year just two years prior to that. Continue reading “2018 Bull Cup Preview: St. Petersburg Admirals vs Montreal Metros”

Calgary Inferno Win Bull Cup

The Calgary Inferno have won the 2017 Bull Cup Championship Series, after defeating the Montreal Metros 7-5 in the final game of the best-of-five series.

The series ended with an exciting, close game as Calgary was on the scoreboard early after scoring twice in the 1st, and holding their lead until the Metros tied it in the 6th inning. Continue reading “Calgary Inferno Win Bull Cup”

Ohio Oxen Win Bull Cup

Ohio Oxen have won their fourth Bull Cup, defeating Calgary 8-7 in extra innings to take the series 3-2
Ohio Oxen have won their fourth Bull Cup, defeating Calgary 8-7 in extra innings to take the series 3-2

It was a hard-fought battle for both teams to make it this far. But as the saying goes, “to the victors go the spoils.” For the victorious Ohio Oxen, that meant the Bull Baseball League Bull Cup trophy.

The Oxen took a 8-7 victory over the Calgary Inferno at Oxen Ballpark, winning their 4th championship after taking the series 3-2. This is their fourth Bull Cup win in five appearances. Calgary were defending champions, having won the cup in 2015.

“We’ve got grit” said Oxen catcher Tyrone O’Saurus, who was named MVP of the series. “We know how to win when we have to.”

The new titleholders completed the regular season with a first-place finish in the Lake League West Division and a 46-36 record.

Otomo Blasts Oxen, Inferno Take Game 4, 8-6

The Calgary Inferno and the Ohio Oxen will take the Bull Cup to a decisive 5th game. In a must-win situation today, the Inferno beat the Oxen 8-6 at Inferno Park to force the series into what will essentially be a one-game playoff. Calgary right fielder Takeo Otomo was named player of the game in the win after he was 2 for 4 with a home run and a walk, while adding 4 RBI and scoring once.

Calgary third baseman Cody Martin helped the Inferno go up, 2-1, in the bottom of the fifth inning. With the game tied, Martin hit a run-scoring single off Ohio pitcher Heath Smokem.

“We’re happy,” Otomo told reporters after the win. “When you’re in the playoffs, you’ve pretty much got to treat every game like it could be your last.”

The final game is set to be played on Friday, September 30th, 2016 at Oxen Ballpark. The scheduled starters for the game are Fernando Latorre for Calgary and Batbreaker Barker for Ohio.