Tag: AEL Rookie of the Year

Last AEL Player Awards Announced

(Game date: Oct. 7, 2018) — The final season for the American Eagle League, which will be renamed for 2019 as the Metropolitan League, has come to a close. The last official act for the league was the issue its 2018 season player awards, which were announced today.

Taking home the 2018 AEL Carl Simms MVP Award as the most valuable player during the year was dominant Norfolk Sharks catcher Earl MacPherson.

Continue reading “Last AEL Player Awards Announced”

Dodd Named Best AEL Rookie

He was the top newcomer in 2016, according to the voters. Joe Dodd shackled the opposing team time and time again in the late innings to win the American Eagle League Rookie of the Year Award.

The Jacksonville reliever held the opposition to a .186 average and put up no saves and 54 strikeouts in 58 innings with a 4-0 record and a 1.55 ERA.

Brian Currell of the Denver Highlanders finished second in voting, while Ramon Gomez of the Arizona Cowboys finished third.