Longhorns Win 3rd Cow League Championship in 10 Years

(GAME DATE — Oct. 27, 2020) — The Toronto Nomads AAA affiliate Brampton Longhorns have won their third Cow League Cup championship since 2010, after dismantling the Thunder Bay Rail Heads in 6 games.

The Rail Heads, who are the top farm team for the Minneapolis Ravens, were making their seventh franchise playoff appearance, and were hoping for their first championship win.

Brampton reliever Palaina Lopaka was a big factor, winning games 5 and 6 out of the bullpen for the Longhorns.  Left fielder David Bingman, who had been released from the Nevada Speeders in 2018 and faced an uncertain return to baseball, was the championship series MVP after batting .292 and smacking 4 homers, raking two a game for the first two games of the series. Bingman had just 5 on the whole season for Brampton.

Both the Longhorns and the Rail Heads came into the Cow League postseason as unlikely longshots, as both were wild card entries. Brampton defeated the Hartford Judges in the opening best-of-five series, 3-1, before sweeping the St. Anthony SeaWolves, 4-0.

The Rail Heads opened their postseason with a 3-0 sweep over the Portland Timberwolves, before turning their attention to the Oakland Dukes, and going 4-1.


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *