Florida Rookie League Playoff Teams Set

The FRL playoff matchups are set as the season came to a close yesterday. The teams advancing to the postseason include the Miami Motorheads (Detroit) who will face the Daytona Beach Danger (Denver), the Ft. Lauderdale Nomads (Toronto), who are up against the Key largo Oxen (Ohio), the Clearwater Sluggers (Louisville) who will face the Ft Myers Deputies (Dallas), and finally the Tallahassee Storm (Miami) who will square off with the Lakeland Salts (Seattle).

The Deputies held the best record through the FRL season, going 56-28 (.667), but were the top team in their division, the GCL’s Chris Felix Division, at the end of the second half of the season, going 29-13(.690) to tie the Storm, who led the Iron Arm Division.

The Danger were the top run differential team this season, scoring 156 runs more than they were scored on. But it is the Deputies that belong to the best minor league system in the league right now, with deep talent at every level. Each team in the Deputies minor organization is currently 1st or 2nd place in their divisions. They have 5 of the top-50 prospects, three of whom are at the rookie level.

It is hard to predict which of these eight teams will advance through the postseason.

The FRL playoffs feature three rounds of best-of-three series, culminating with the Rookie World Series.


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *