Calgary Inferno Win Bull Cup

The Calgary Inferno have won the 2017 Bull Cup Championship Series, after defeating the Montreal Metros 7-5 in the final game of the best-of-five series.

The series ended with an exciting, close game as Calgary was on the scoreboard early after scoring twice in the 1st, and holding their lead until the Metros tied it in the 6th inning.

But the Inferno were not to be dissuaded, and they took the lead again with a devastating five runs in the bottom of the 6th, including a 2-run homer by Logans Run off Danny Tirado, who made his exit shortly afterwards.

Enrique Nunez was the winning pitcher for Calgary, allowing just 3 runs, only 1 of which was earned, through 6.1 innings, and making up for a brutal Game 1 loss where he allowed 7 earned runs in just 3.1 innings.

Sergio Maestas notched his 4th playoff save, shutting down the Montreal offense as they tried to rally in the 9th.

In total, Tirado allowed 7 earned runs in 5.1 innings, his worst outing since June 19 when he allowed 8 runs on 11 hits from Boston.

Logans Run was crowned Bull Cup MVP. During the series he hit .412 with two homers and three RBIs.

The Inferno have now won the Bull Cup for the second time in club history, their first win coming just two seasons ago, in 2015, when they defeated the Hamilton Crusaders in five games.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *