Arbitration Rulings Give Major Awards

Several players have earned big contracts through arbitration, it was announced today, with the biggest award going to Montreal Metros shortstop Alfonso George, at $13.8 million.

This arbitration award is higher than the $13.1 million “qualifying offer” amount that certain compensation-eligible pending free agents were due to accept during this year’s player bargaining, and makes George the 3rd-highest paid shortstop in the Bull League.

The award comes despite an off season for George, with his average crashing from a career-high .329 in 2016 to a career-worst .215 this season.

Some other top arbitration awards include:

  • Katai Kitigawa, outfielder (Anchorage Aces) – $11,137,500
  • Tyrone O’Saurus, catcher (Ohio Oxen) – $8,750,000
  • Glen Reese, outfielder (Denver Danger) – $7,500,000
  • David Baker, third baseman (Jacksonville Ravens) – $7,500,000
  • Bronson Jamieson, outfielder (Norfolk Sharks) – $6,875,000
  • Earl MacPherson, catcher (Norfolk Sharks) – $6,682,500
  • Mario Morales, pitcher (Chicago Pit Bulls) – $6,297,500
  • Pete Sharpe, pitcher (Boston Brawlers) – $6,000,000
  • Fred Loveless, pitcher (New York Dragons) – $6,000,000


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *