Bull League Hall of Fame Fast Facts

With the highly anticipated announcement of the Hall of Fame ballot results coming shortly, we take a moment to look at the current Hall of Fame residents and some interesting facts about the hall.

  • There are currently 24 players in the Bull League Hall of Fame
  • There are 9 starting pitchers, and 1 reliever (a closer)
  • There is just 1 catcher and 1 first baseman
  • There are 2 2B-men
  • There are 4 3B-men
  • There are 6 outfielders
  • The highest vote-getter was Iron Arm who was inducted in 2014 with 99.7% of votes
  • The lowest vote-getter was Flamer Flaherty who was inducted in 2010 with the minimum 75.0%
  • Two players were admitted by the Commissioner as special inductees and therefore without considering ballots. They were Sean “Speed” Lewis of Toronto, and Carl Simms of Nevada.
  • Four Hall of Famers have loaned their names to Rookie League divisions, including Simms and Arm, along with Chuck Provost and Chris Felix.
  • The Bull League MVP award was renamed to the Carl Simms MVP Award after the Hall of Famer, who won most valuable player honors 6 times in his career, a Bull League record.
  • The New York Dragons and the Detroit Motorheads claim the most Hall of Fame inductees, with each team having four players inducted wearing their team colors. The four Dragons were all inducted when the team was named Minutemen, while the Motorheads were called the Chicoutimi Cinquantes at the time.
  • Chris Felix was the first player to be inducted, in 2006, after garnering 94.9% of the votes that year. He was the only Hall of Famer until 2009 when five more players were added, Bill SchafferFred FasterpitchHugh MulhollandMark Fernandes, and Hazel Dell.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *