Montreal Carabins Take First Canada Cup

(GAME DATE — Oct. 27, 2020) — The Canadian Interuniversity Sports baseball season has come to an end after the Montréal Carabins were crowned the Canada Cup champions earlier this month. The team, which plays in the Canadian Collegiate Baseball Association (CCBA), defeated the Waterloo Warriors of the Ontario University Athletics (OUA) conference, winning the best-of-three series, 2-1.

It was a first championship for the Carabins, who featured a stunningly impressive squad, including right fielder Price Simms, catcher Herbert Matthews, and righty hurler Bryant Ford.

Matthews was named MVP of the Canada Cup finals, and was also later named the season MVP for the CCBA conference, taking home the Larry Walker MVP award. Ford was awarded the Ferguson Jenkins Pitcher of the Year trophy for the CCBA after going 3-0 during the season, and allowing just a 0.70 ERA over 25.2 innings.

Waterloo’s right-hander, Mike Dell, failed to win a championship, but after the season was named Reliever of the Year for the OUA, as well as the Fergie Jenkins winner. He allowed no earned runs in 9.0 innings, while tallying 6 saves in relief on the year. Dell, a 3rd year player for the Warriors, will turn 21 before the 2021 draft and should be eligible come next June.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *