Hoosiers Clobber Bruins to Win NCAA World Series

The Indiana Hoosiers have won the inaugural Bull League NCAA Division I College World Series, soundly putting down the UCLA Bruins 17-2 in Game 3, in Los Angelesm, today.

The Bruins had evened the series in a similarly lopsided contest just one day prior, beating Indiana 12-4 in a game that included a 10-run 4th inning for UCLA.

But Game 3 was a much different story for the home town Bruins, as a string of pitchers were unable to stop the tide of Hoosier runs. First, Nate Fisher allowed 9 runs to score in the top of the 3rd inning, unable to muster a single strikeout by the time he was pulled and replaced with Paul Miller.  Miller, would allow another run to score in the 5th but stayed in as UCLA finally got on the board in the bottom half of that inning.

Josh Bethel had just a short stint following Miller, allowing Indiana to add 3 more runs in the 7th. David Perez though coughed up another 4 runs.

The bulk of Indiana’s runs came from the top of the order, Adrian Ruegge, who was named player of the game, and Chris Gonzales. Both players scored 3 runs each. Antonio Gallegos, batting 9th, scored another 3 runs and hit the game’s only home run.

Harrison Shaw was named playoff MVP for his 5-for-11 series batting totals, which included a home run and 5 RBIs.

NCAA now enters its off-season as it prepares to lose it’s top 21 and 22 year olds to the June draft.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *